Latest News

First Public Event by the Global Impact Association (GIA)

On 28 February 2022, the GIA hosted its first public (hybrid) event at the World Trade Institute (WTI) in Bern. The aim was to present the scholarships that are offered to people with limited financial resources who want to pursue the MILE or TRAIL+ (LL.M.) programme at the WTI.

Prof. Manfred Elsig gave the welcome address and presented the goals, ambitions and activities carried out by the GIA. After his introduction, the sponsors of the four scholarships were given the opportunity to present the audience the respective history and aim of the scholarships: Professor Chang-fa Lo, Permanent Representative of Taiwan to the World Trade Organization, talked about the two Penglai Scholarships and the importance of education for the creation of better lives and opportunities to those less priviledged. Joel Reeves spoke about the Nathalie Diaz Asmat Scholarship, which was created to honour the legacy of Nathalie, a WTI Alumna from Peru who passed away in 2020. Professor Peter Van den Bossche, the WTI’s Director of Studies and sponsor of the Patricia Murillo Montesdeoca Scholarship, spoke fondly of his late wife Patricia, a Falun Gong practitioner and human rights activist from Ecuador, in whose honour the scholarship is offered.

After that, in a short ceremony, the three scholarship recipients of last year were given a certificate and GIA mug by GIA Executive Committee members Margrit Vetter and Kholofelo Kugler, who shared some memories of her time as a student at the WTI.

The event was followed by an apéro kindly sponsored by the WTI.

For people interested in the GIA scholarships, please remember that the application deadline is 1 April 2022.

Prof. Manfred Elsig, Chair of the Global Impact Association (GIA).
Prof. Chang-fa Lo, Permanent Representative of Taiwan to the World Trade Organization.
Joel Reeves, husband of the late Nathalie Diaz Asmat.
Prof. Peter Van den Bossche, Director of Studies at the WTI.
The three scholarship recipients of last year: Samuel Mokonen Abdeta, Yi-Ju Chen and Gabriela Garcia.